Jump to main content

England release squad update for Wales clash

England release squad update for Wales clash
  • Three uncapped players have been included in the squad
  • Chris Ashton will not join the squad due to a calf strain
  • Joe Cokanasiga is included as England continue preparations

Eddie Jones has called up 33 players to his England squad as they continue preparations for their upcoming Guinness Six Nations clash against Wales in Cardiff.

Three uncapped players have been included in the squad, with Saracens No.8 Ben Earl, Worcester Warriors hooker Jack Singleton and Gloucester Rugby’s Ollie Thorley all selected.

Sale Sharks winger Chris Ashton, who made his first Championship start since 2013 in the 44-8 victory against France, will not join the squad though due to a minor calf strain.

Instead, the 31-year-old will spend the week in rehabilitation with his club, while Mako Vunipola was ruled out of the Guinness Six Nations with an ankle injury last week.

Bath’s Joe Cokanasiga and Exeter Chiefs winger Jack Nowell could both replace Ashton, who is expected to recover in time to play Italy in the penultimate round of the Championship.

The Red Rose go into the third-round clash with a perfect record in this year’s campaign after defeating Ireland in Dublin before coming out on top against Les Bleus at Twickenham.

England’s 33-man squad

Forwards: Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Ben Earl (Saracens) *, Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), George Kruis (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs), Brad Shields (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Jack Singleton (Worcester Warriors) *, Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Google Ads Manager – Leaderboard

Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Dan Robson (Wasps), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Ollie Thorley (Gloucester Rugby) *, Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Uncapped *