Jump to main content

Wales announce final World Cup squad for Japan

Wales announce final World Cup squad for Japan
  • Alun Wyn Jones set for fourth World Cup
  • Patchell in after impressing against Ireland
  • Carré makes the cut following debut in Cardiff

Warren Gatland believes he has the perfect blend of talent and experience for the World Cup after naming his final 31-man squad to travel to Japan.

The Wales coach made the final decisions after Saturday’s warm-up clash with Ireland, as Scarlets fly-half Rhys Patchell and Saracens youngster Rhys Carré forced their way into the squad.

Carré made his debut in the 22-17 defeat and earns a place in the squad, while Patchell is rewarded for his part in the comeback from Wales in the second half.

Elsewhere Alun Wyn Jones is set to lead the team in what will be his fourth World Cup, having led Wales to the Grand Slam earlier this year.

And Gatland admitted it was a difficult task trimming the squad to 31 following an intense preparation that has seen Wales travel to the Alps and Turkey for training camps.

“Selection is always the toughest part of the job and that is especially true come RWC time,” said Gatland.

“Reducing the squad down to 31 has been extremely hard especially when you look at the depth we have created and the amount of the work the training squad have put in, for some, 14 weeks of training.

“We are really happy with the final 31, we feel there is an excellent blend to the squad, in terms of talent, experience and age profile and we are all incredibly excited about heading to Japan and what lies ahead.

Google Ads Manager – Leaderboard

“These players have performed and delivered for Wales and deserve the opportunity to represent their nation at the game’s showpiece tournament.”

Wales will play their final warm-up game before heading out to Japan against Ireland in Dublin.



Jake Ball (Scarlets)
Adam Beard (Ospreys)
Rhys Carre (Saracens)
James Davies (Scarlets)
Elliot Dee (Dragons)
Ryan Elias (Scarlets)
Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs)
Cory Hill (Dragons)
Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys)
Wyn Jones (Scarlets)
Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues)
Ross Moriarty (Dragons)
Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues)
Ken Owens (Scarlets)
Aaron Shingler (Scarlets)
Nicky Smith (Ospreys)
Justin Tipuric (Ospreys)
Aaron Wainwright (Dragons)


Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues)
Hallam Amos (Cardiff Blues)
Dan Biggar (Northampton Saints)
Aled Davies (Ospreys)
Gareth Davies (Scarlets)
Jonathan Davies (Scarlets)
Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets)
George North (Ospreys)
Hadleigh Parkes (Scarlets)
Rhys Patchell (Scarlets)
Owen Watkin (Ospreys)
Liam Williams (Saracens)
Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues)