Jump to main content

Wilson to captain Scotland for first time

Wilson to captain Scotland for first time
  • Townsend makes 12 changes from team that won in Tbilisi
  • Ryan Wilson takes the captain's armband
  • Jonny Gray makes his return to action

Ryan Wilson is set to captain Scotland for the very first time as they take on Georgia in their final World Cup warm-up clash at BT Murrayfield.

Gregor Townsend’s team beat the Lelos 44-10 in Tbilisi last weekend and will now be looking to round off their World Cup preparations with a victory on home soil on Friday night.

Townsend has made 12 changes to the team that won in Georgia, with a completely new pack.

Darcy Graham on the wing, Blair Kinghorn at full-back and Sam Johnson at inside centre are the only players to start both fixtures.

Jonny Gray starts in the second row in his first appearance of the warm-up matches, with Blade Thomson getting another opportunity at No.8.

The Scotland coach had named his final World Cup squad on Tuesday with Stuart McInally to captain the team in Japan, however he will not feature in this final warm-up clash.

Townsend said: “We’ve been together since the middle of June and Friday night is our final chance this year to play in front of our supporters.

“It’s another opportunity for players to get valuable game time and build on what was a very good performance last weekend in Georgia. We are very aware that Georgia will be much improved after their first hit out of the season and they will know much more about how we play.

Google Ads Manager – Leaderboard

“It’s a boost to have Jonny back in side for the first time since last season and for others, like Tommy, Blade and Duncan, to have made a return to full fitness, following their recent injuries.

“It’s also great to involve two players in our squad this weekend – Grant Stewart and Magnus Bradbury – who just missed out on selection to our group to travel to Japan.”

Scotland team to face Georgia:

15. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)
14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)
13. Duncan Taylor (Saracens)
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors)
11. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh)
10. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)

1. Gordon Reid (Ayrshire Bulls)
2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors)
3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors)
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
6. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) (c)
7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)
8. Blade Thomson (Scarlets)

16. Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors)
17. Allan Dell (Edinburgh)
18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
20. Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh)
21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
23. Chris Harris (Gloucester)