Jump to main content


Jones to break international caps record on Super Saturday

Jones to break international caps record on Super Saturday

Alun Wyn Jones will become the most-capped player in the history of international rugby when he leads Wales out against Scotland in the first game of Super Saturday.

The 35-year-old is to make his 149th Test appearance at Parc y Scarlets, surpassing New Zealand legend Richie McCaw’s tally having equalled it in last weekend’s warm-up match against France.

Jones, whose tally to date is made up of 139 Welsh caps and nine for the British & Irish Lions, captains a side which includes debutant Shane Lewis-Hughes in the back row alongside Taulupe Faletau and Justin Tipuric.

Wales’ record-breaking skipper will be joined in the second row by Will Rowlands, making his first start for Wales, while Tomas Francis comes into the front row fresh from helping Exeter Chiefs to a domestic and European double.

Jonathan Davies makes his first appearance of the 2020 Championship in midfield, where he lines up outside Owen Watkin, and Liam Williams comes into the back three to link up with Leigh Halfpenny and Josh Adams.

Gareth Davies and Dan Biggar form the half-back pairing while hooker Sam Parry, who made his international bow in Paris last weekend, is named among the replacements.

Neither Wales nor Scotland can win the Championship but the hosts could leapfrog their visitors into fourth with a win.

Wales team to play Scotland (Saturday October 31, KO 2.15pm)

Google Ads Manager – Leaderboard

15. Leigh Halfpenny (90 Caps)

14. Liam Williams (63 Caps)

13. Jonathan Davies (82 Caps)

12. Owen Watkin (22 Caps)

11. Josh Adams (25 Caps)

10. Dan Biggar (84 Caps)

9. Gareth Davies (54 Caps)

1. Rhys Carre (9 Caps)

2. Ryan Elias (14 Caps)

3. Tomas Francis (48 Caps)

4. Will Rowlands (1 Cap)

5. Alun Wyn Jones (Captain – 139 Caps)

6. Shane Lewis-Hughes (Uncapped)

7. Justin Tipuric (77 Caps)

8. Taulupe Faletau (77 Caps)


16. Sam Parry (1 Cap)

17. Wyn Jones (25 Caps)

18. Dillon Lewis (27 Caps)

19. Cory Hill (26 Caps)

20. James Davies (8 Caps)

21. Lloyd Williams (28 Caps)

22. Rhys Patchell (20 Caps)

23. Nick Tompkins (5 Caps)