Jump to main content
Rattez replaces Ramos in France training squad


Rattez replaces Ramos in France training squad

Rattez replaces Ramos in France training squad

France full-back Thomas Ramos has been replaced by Vincent Rattez in Fabien Galthie’s 37-man training squad for the 2021 Guinness Six Nations.

Ramos was a regular member of the matchday squad during last year’s Championship, coming off the bench against Wales, Scotland and Ireland as Les Bleus finished second.

He also started at No.15 for France when they avenged their Guinness Six Nations defeat to Scotland in the Autumn Nations Cup with a 22-15 triumph at BT Murrayfield.

But the Toulouse man, who struck 14 points in the victory over Gregor Townsend’s side, will not join France’s training squad to prepare for their Championship opener against Italy.

Galthie names 37-man France squad for 2021 Guinness Six Nations

Instead, 28-year-old Rattez will take his place in the training set-up ahead of the trip to the Stadio Olimpico, despite largely being deployed on the wing by Galthie.

Rattez scored a try in France’s 2020 Guinness Six Nations curtain-raiser against eventual champions England in Paris before starting on the wing against Italy and Ireland.

Google Ads Manager – Leaderboard

He was one of the most prominent omissions from Galthie’s squad announcement but his inclusion now provides another back-three option along with the likes of No.15s Anthony Bouthier and Brice Dulin.

Galthie’s team narrowly missed out on last year’s Championship crown on points difference as Eddie Jones’ England, who beat Italy away from home in their final match, clinched the title.

France toppled Ireland 35-27 in Round 5 but that was not enough to stop England, who also won the Autumn Nations Cup by beating a much-changed Les Bleus side in the final at Twickenham, claiming their third Championship victory in five years.

Updated France squad

Uini Atonio – 34 caps

Cyril Baille – 23 caps

Pierre Bourgarit – 3 caps

Camille Chat – 30 caps

Georges-Henri Colombe Reazel – 0 caps

Jean-Baptiste Gros – 5 caps

Mohamed Haouas – 7 caps

Hassane Kolingar – 2 caps

Julien Marchand – 9 caps

Killian Geraci – 2 caps

Bernard Le Roux – 44 caps

Baptiste Pesenti – 2 caps

Swan Rebbadj – 1 caps

Romain Taofifenua – 20 caps

Paul Willemse – 12 caps

Grégory Alldritt – 18 caps

Dylan Cretin – 5 caps

François Cros – 8 caps

Anthony Jelonch – 4 caps

Charles Ollivon – 18 caps

Selevasio Tolofua – 1 caps

Baptiste Couilloud – 5 caps

Antoine Dupont – 27 caps

Baptiste Serin – 39 caps

Louis Carbonel – 2 caps

Matthieu Jalibert – 8 caps

Julien Delbouis – 0 caps

Gaël Fickou – 58 caps

Virimi Vakatawa – 27 caps

Arthur Vincent – 7 caps

Damian Penaud – 17 caps

Donovan Taofifenua – 0 caps

Teddy Thomas – 22 caps

Gabin Villiere – 2 caps

Anthony Bouthier – 6 caps

Brice Dulin – 31 caps

Vincent Rattez – 8 caps