Jump to main content


Player of the Championship

The Guinness Six Nations Player of the Championship is one of rugby’s greatest individual accolades, and has been won by a host of the game’s top players.

Each year, a shortlist of players are chosen by an expert panel for the Guinness Player of the Championship award. This list then goes to a public vote, with the winning player announced in the week after Super Saturday, the final weekend.

Ireland have provided the winner of a remarkable seven of 15 editions so far, with the great Brian O’Driscoll (2006, 2007, 2009) claiming three. The brilliant Scottish full-back Stuart Hogg of Scotland is the only other man to win more than once (2016, 2017).

Ireland’s Tommy Bowe (2010), Paul O’Connell (2015) and Jacob Stockdale (2018) have also won the award.

Four Welshmen have won the accolade with Martyn Williams (2005), Shane Williams (2008), Dan Lydiate (2012) and Leigh Halfpenny (2013) all having been chosen.

England’s Mike Brown (2014) and Italy’s Andrea Masi (2011) have also had the honour of being named the Championship’s best player.