All the teams: Guinness Six Nations Round 2

Ire team 2000
The stage is set for another must-watch weekend of Guinness Six Nations action, with all six matchday squads now announced ahead of Round 2.

The stage is set for another must-watch weekend of Guinness Six Nations action, with all six matchday squads now announced ahead of Round 2.

Five of the six starting XVs show alterations from the opening weekend, some forced and some tactical, with several new faces on show hoping to seize their opportunities.

Let’s take a look at who will be taking to the field in Round 2…


Ireland v France (Aviva Stadium, KO 2.15pm GMT)

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has made just a solitary change to the side which defeated Wales last time out, with Rob Herring in at hooker for the injured Dan Sheehan. Ronan Kelleher returns to the matchday 23 among the replacements.

France start with the same team which began the narrow win over Italy, with the only two changes coming among the replacements. François Cros and Baptiste Couilloud are the additions, with Thomas Lavault and Nolann Le Garrec missing out.

Ireland: 15. Hugo Keenan, 14. Mack Hansen, 13. Garry Ringrose, 12. Stuart McCloskey, 11. James Lowe, 10. Johnny Sexton (c), 9. Conor Murray; 1. Andrew Porter, 2. Rob Herring, 3. Finlay Bealham, 4. Tadhg Beirne, 5. James Ryan, 6. Peter O’Mahony, 7. Josh van der Flier, 8. Caelan Doris

Replacements: 16. Ronan Kelleher, 17. Dave Kilcoyne, 18. Tom O’Toole, 19. Iain Henderson, 20. Jack Conan, 21. Craig Casey, 22. Ross Byrne, 23. Bundee Aki

France: 15 Thomas Ramos, 14 Damian Penaud, 13 Gaël Fickou, 12 Yoram Moefana, 11 Ethan Dumortier, 10 Romain Ntamack, 9 Antoine Dupont (c), 1 Cyril Baille, 2 Julien Marchand, 3 Uini Atonio, 4 Thibaud Flament, 5 Paul Willemse, 6 Anthony Jelonch, 7 Charles Ollivon, 8 Grégory Alldritt

Replacements: 16 Gaëtan Barlot, 17 Reda Wardi, 18 Sipili Falatea, 19 Romain Taofifenua, 20 François Cros, 21 Sekou Macalou, 22 Baptiste Couilloud, 23 Matthieu Jalibert

Scotland v Wales (BT Murrayfield, 4.45pm GMT)

Following the clash between the world’s top two in Dublin, attentions turn to Edinburgh.

Scotland are looking to win their opening two Championship matches for the first time since 1996 and Gregor Townsend is able to call on the fit-again Zander Fagerson, who replaces WP Nel at tighthead.

Warren Gatland has rung the changes for Wales, with five alterations to the team beaten by Ireland. Experienced duo Alun Wyn Jones and Justin Tipuric are not involved at all, with Taulupe Faletau dropped to the bench.

Wyn Jones, Dillon Lewis, Dafydd Jenkins, Christ Tshiunza and Tommy Refell are the new boys, with Jac Morgan shifting to No.8.

Scotland: 15. Stuart Hogg, 14. Kyle Steyn, 13. Huw Jones, 12. Sione Tuipulotu, 11. Duhan van der Merwe, 10. Finn Russell, 9. Ben White, 1. Pierre Schoeman, 2. George Turner, 3. Zander Fagerson, 4. Richie Gray, 5. Grant Gilchrist, 6. Jamie Ritchie (Captain), 7. Luke Crosbie, 8. Matt Fagerson

Replacements: 16. Fraser Brown, 17. Jamie Bhatti, 18. WP Nel, 19. Jonny Gray, 20. Jack Dempsey, 21. George Horne, 22. Blair Kinghorn, 23. Chris Harris

Wales: 15. Liam Williams, 14. Josh Adams, 13. George North, 12. Joe Hawkins, 11. Rio Dyer, 10. Dan Biggar, 9. Tomos Williams, 1. Wyn Jones, 2. Ken Owens (Captain), 3. Dillon Lewis, 4. Dafydd Jenkins, 5. Adam Beard, 6. Christ Tshiunza, 7. Tommy Reffell, 8. Jac Morgan

Replacements: 16. Scott Baldwin, 17. Rhys Carre, 18. Leon Brown, 19. Rhys Davies, 20. Taulupe Faletau, 21. Rhys Webb, 22. Rhys Patchell, 23. Alex Cuthbert


England v Italy (Twickenham Stadium, 3pm GMT)

A midfield reshuffle makes up two of the three changes to England’s side as they look to bounce back from their Round 1 defeat against Scotland.

Ollie Lawrence and the returning Henry Slade form a new-look centre partnership, with Owen Farrell moved to fly-half and Marcus Smith on the bench. Jack Willis replaces Ben Curry in the only change to the pack while Henry Arundell is back among the replacements.

For Italy, Edoardo Padovani comes in on the wing for his first Guinness Six Nations start since scoring the match-winning try against Wales on Super Saturday last year. The Azzurri’s only other change sees Marco Riccioni come in to the front row in place of Simone Ferrari.

England: 15. Freddie Steward, 14. Max Malins, 13. Henry Slade, 12. Ollie Lawrence, 11. Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10. Owen Farrell (c), 9. Jack Van Pooertvliet; 1. Ellis Genge, 2. Jamie George, 3. Kyle Sinckler, 4. Maro Itoje,5. Ollie Chessum, 6. Lewis Ludlam, 7. Jack Willis, 8. Alex Dombrandt

Replacements: 16. Jack Walker, 17. Mako Vunipola, 18. Dan Cole, 19. Nick Isiekwe, 20. Ben Earl, 21. Alex Mitchell, 22. Marcus Smith, 23 Henry Arundell

Italy: 15. Ange Capuozzo, 14. Edoardo Padovani, 13. Juan Ignacio Brex, 12. Luca Morisi, 11 Tommaso Menoncello, 10. Tommaso Allan, 9. Stephen Varney, 8 Lorenzo Cannone, 7. Michele Lamaro (c), 6. Sebastian Negri, 5. Federico Ruzza, 4. Niccolò Cannone, 3. Marco Riccioni, 2. Giacomo Nicotera, 1 Danilo Fischetti

Replacements: 16. Luca Bigi, 17. Federico Zani, 18. Simone Ferrari, 19. Edoardo Iachizzi, 20. Jake Polledri, 21. Manuel Zuliani, 22. Alessandro Fusco, 23, Pierre Bruno