All you need to know about England Under-20s

van Poortvliet 2000
England’s stars of tomorrow will look to make history this summer by winning their ninth Six Nations Under-20s title.

England’s stars of tomorrow will look to make history this summer by winning their ninth Six Nations Under-20s title.

Alan Dickens’ 32-man squad will look to beat Wales, Scotland, France, Ireland, and Italy to top spot in the rankings, and maybe even a fourth Grand Slam.

As well as three clean sweeps England have also won five Triple Crowns and have never finished bottom of the table.

Here is all you need to know about this year’s England side:

Last time out

Scotland and Wales were the only two sides to complete all five fixtures in last year’s competition which was abandoned amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

However, England had endured a topsy-turvy campaign up until that point, despite beating France and Scotland in their first two games.

Both victories came by no more than five points and in their next two games the Red Rose lost to Ireland (39-21) and Wales (23-22).

England would have been confident of improving their fourth-place standing in the table, with a clash against Italy set for Week 5.

However, that game never took place as play was halted due to coronavirus restrictions.

Best finish

England had iconic under-20s squads in 2017, 2011 and 2008 and in all three years they won the Championship and the Grand Slam.

The class of 2011 was brimming with talent, with Elliot Daly, Owen Farrell, Christian Wade, George Ford, Joe Launchbury, Mako Vunipola and Marland Yarde all featuring in that year’s success.

Recent record

2020: N/A

2019: 3rd

2018: 2nd

2017: 1st

2016: 5th

2015: 1st

2021 Championship

The Championship will be played from June 19 to July 13 on five match days at Cardiff Arms Park in Wales to help reduce travel and ensure greater rest periods for players.

Match day squads will feature 26 players due to the streamlined nature of the Championship, with three games played consecutively on each day.

England fixtures

England begin the 2021 Championship against France on June 19 before lining up against Scotland on June 25.

Ireland are up next on July 1 with the host side Wales to follow on July 7.

The Red Rose will once again round off their campaign against Italy on July 13.

Ones to watch

Jack Clement, called up by Eddie Jones for the senior squad at the end of 2020, is a star in the making and one of England’s big hopes this summer.

Also keep an eye on young Leicester Tigers scrum-half Jack van Poortvliet, who will be a key player for England in this year’s Championship.

Another Tiger, Archie Vanes, could be a breakout star in this competition.

Originally a back-rower but now settled at hooker, he came through the academy system to join the Tigers’ development squad in 2019/20.

London Irish’s Lucas Brooke is another player to watch out for after an impressive career at schoolboy level for Wellington College.


Alan Dickens featured for Sale Sharks, Leeds Tykes, Saracens and Northampton Saints during an impressive playing career.

The man from Merseyside got involved in the coaching set-up at Franklin’s Gardens after retiring as a player in 2010.

He held various posts at club level including academy manager and interim head coach and has also toured South Africa as a defence coach with England Saxons.

England Under-20s squad for Six Nations


Harvey Beaton (Saracens)

Phil Brantingham (Newcastle Falcons)

Lucas Brooke (London Irish)

Arthur Clark (Gloucester Rugby)

Jack Clement (Gloucester Rugby)

Luke Green (London Irish)

Alex Groves (Bristol Bears)

Tarek Haffar (London Irish)

Lewis Holsey (Worcester Warriors)

Ethan Hunt (Gloucester Rugby)

Emeka Ilione (Leicester Tigers)

Nahum Merigan (Bath Rugby)

Ewan Richards (Bath Rugby)

Sam Riley (Harlequins)

Ollie Stonham (Saracens)

Harry Taylor (Gloucester Rugby)

Freddie Thomas (Gloucester Rugby)

Archie Vanes (Leicester Tigers)


Charlie Atkinson (Wasps)

Seb Atkinson (Worcester Warriors)

Deago Bailey (Bristol Bears)

Orlando Bailey (Bath Rugby)

Jack Bates (Bristol Bears)

Louis Hillman-Cooper (Gloucester Rugby)

Dan Lancaster (Leeds Tykes)

Tom Litchfield (Northampton Saints)

Tommy Mathews (Northampton Saints)

Raffi Quirke (Sale Sharks)

Arthur Relton (Exeter Chiefs)

Tom Roebuck (Sale Sharks)

Fin Smith (Worcester Warriors)

Jack van Poortvliet (Leicester Tigers)