Carbery starts for Ireland in Italy Test

Joey Carbery has been given the nod at fly-half for Ireland’s Saturday’s showdown with Italy in Chicago.

Joey Carbery has been given the nod at fly-half for Ireland’s Saturday’s showdown with Italy in Chicago.

The Munster No.10 will make only his fourth start in Irish colours after impressing during the summer tour of Australia with Johnny Sexton rested for the match at Soldier Field.

Rhys Ruddock will captain the Men in Green again after leading the side during the 2017 tour of USA and Japan in place of Rory Best.

Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt has named two uncapped players amongst the replacements with Ross Byrne and Will Addison ready to make an impact if called upon.

The call-up marks a significant moment for former England U20 international Addison, who only made the move to PRO14 side Ulster from Sale Sharks last summer.

While Leinster’s Byrne showcased his talent throughout last season as his side secured a historic domestic league and Champions Cup double.

Jordon Larmour starts at full-back with Andrew Conway and Jacob Stockdale on the wings.

Andrew Porter and Jack McGrath are handed a starting jersey either side of Niall Scannell in the front row with Tadhg Beirne and Quinn Roux teaming up in the second row.

McGrath is the most capped player in the squad with 50 international appearances under his belt.

The side has a remarkably different look to the XV that secured Ireland a historic Grand Slam earlier this year against England, with Garry Ringrose, Bundee Aki and Jacob Stockdale the only players that started on that occasion playing in the United States.

IRELAND TEAM TO PLAY ITALY (Saturday, November 3, kick-off 3.00pm local time/8.00pm Irish time)

15. Jordan Larmour (Leinster) 14. Andrew Conway (Munster) 13. Garry Ringrose (Leinster) 12. Bundee Aki (Connacht) 11. Jacob Stockdale (Ulster) 10. Joey Carbery (Munster) 9. Luke McGrath (Leinster) 1. Jack McGrath (Leinster) 2. Niall Scannell (Munster) 3. Andrew Porter (Leinster) 4. Tadhg Beirne (Munster) 5. Quinn Roux (Connacht) 6. Rhys Ruddock (Leinster) (c) 7. Josh van der Flier (Leinster) 8. Jack Conan (Leinster)


16. Sean Cronin (Leinster) 17. Dave Kilcoyne (Munster) 18. Finlay Bealham (Connacht) 19. Devin Toner (Leinster) 20. Jordi Murphy (Ulster) 21. John Cooney (Ulster) 22. Ross Byrne (Leinster) 23. Will Addison (Ulster)