Five Guinness Six Nations stars in World Rugby’s 2021 Men’s 15s Dream Team

Stuart Hogg with the Auld Alliance Trophy 26/3/2021
Five Guinness Six Nations stars have been named in World Rugby’s 2021 Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year.

Five Guinness Six Nations stars have been named in World Rugby’s 2021 Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year.

Scotland captain Stuart Hogg takes his position at full-back after a year in which he became his country’s all-time record try scorer.

The Exeter Chiefs star crossed for his 25th try in his side’s final game of the Autumn Nations Series, a 29-20 win against Japan, to surpass the record jointly held by Ian Smith and Tony Stanger.

Hogg also enjoyed a productive 2021 Guinness Six Nations, leading his side to historic wins against England, their first at Twickenham for 38 years, and against France, their first triumph in Paris this millennium.

Hogg is joined in the backs by France scrum-half Antoine Dupont who captained Les Bleus in the Autumn Nations Series in the absence of injured skipper Charles Ollivon.

Dupont, who has just been named as the world’s best player by Rugby World magazine, played a starring role as France beat New Zealand 40-25 in their final Autumn Nations Series fixture.

The Toulouse half-back was also nominated for the Guinness Six Nations Player of the Championship award after helping France to a second-place finish.

Both props come from Guinness Six Nations sides as Wales’ Wyn Jones is rewarded for a sterling year in which he won the Championship with Wales and became a British & Irish Lion by being named at loosehead.

And on the other side of the scrum is his Lions teammate and Irish star Tadhg Furlong, who started in his side’s stunning 29-20 win over the All Blacks in the Autumn Nations Series.

England’s Maro Itoje is selected in the second row after another year of standout performances from the 27-year-old. Itoje helped England go unbeaten in the Autumn Nations Series after winning the Player of the Series award for the Lions in South Africa.

He is joined in the second row by Springbok Eben Etzebeth with South Africa captain Siya Kolisi on the flank and their teammate and bomb squad member Malcolm Marx selected at hooker.

Completing the pack are New Zealand’s Ardie Savea at No.8 and Australia captain Michael Hooper on the openside. All Black centurion Beauden Barrett slots in at fly-half, with Wallaby powerhouse Samu Kerevi partnering Springbok Lukhanyo Am in the centres.

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year winner Will Jordan is on one wing with World Cup-winning South African Makazole Mapimpi on the other.

World Rugby’s 2021 Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year 15. Stuart Hogg (Scotland), 14. Will Jordan (New Zealand), 13. Lukhanyo Am (South Africa), 12. Samu Kerevi (Australia), 11. Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa), 10. Beauden Barrett (New Zealand), 9. Antoine Dupont (France); 1. Wyn Jones (Wales), 2. Malcolm Marx (South Africa), 3. Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), 4. Maro Itoje (England), 5. Eben Etzebeth (South Africa), 6. Siya Kolisi (South Africa), 7. Michael Hooper (Australia), 8. Ardie Savea (New Zealand)