scotland huddle
Head coach Gregor Townsend has named a 39-player squad for the upcoming 2024 Guinness Six Nations.

Four uncapped players in props Alec Hepburn and Will Hurd, winger Arron Reed and back-three operator Harry Paterson have all earned a first call-up to Scotland duty, ahead of the sell-out Championship opener against Wales in Cardiff on Saturday 3 February.

Loosehead prop Hepburn of Exeter Chiefs qualifies through his father, who was born in Scotland, likewise Sale Sharks flyer Reed. Leicester Tigers’ tighthead Hurd represented his country at under-20 level whilst Paterson, who can play both at wing and full-back, also played in the age-grade side and is a Scotland 7s cap.The rest of Townsend’s squad, for which a captain is still to be named, has much of a familiar look, with Pierre Schoeman, Jamie Bhatti, Zander Fagerson and WP Nel filling the propping positions.

At hooker, Ewan Ashman, Johnny Matthews and George Turner are named to complete front row options.In the second row the experienced Grant Gilchrist and Richie Gray are joined by Scott Cummings, Sam Skinner and Glen Young, who returns to the national squad having last been capped against Argentina in 2022.

Scotland’s forward stable is added to in the form of back row members Jamie Ritchie, Rory Darge, Jack Dempsey, Matt Fagerson, Luke Crosbie, Josh Bayliss and Andy Christie.

In the backs, Reed and Paterson are two of a seven-strong list that includes wingers Duhan van der Merwe, Darcy Graham, Kyle Steyn and Kyle Rowe, as well as full-back Blair Kinghorn.Five centres have been selected by way of Sione Tuipulotu, Huw Jones, Stafford McDowall, Cameron Redpath and Rory Hutchinson, who returns to the fold for the first time since appearing in two Tests on the tour to Argentina in 2022.

Adam Hastings’ timely return from injury has led to the Gloucester Rugby stand-off joining Finn Russell and Ben Healy in the squad, with scrum-half trio Ben White, Ali Price and George Horne also named.

In all, the squad comprises 15 players from Glasgow Warriors, 13 from Edinburgh Rugby and a further 11 who ply their trade outside Scotland.After facing Wales in Cardiff, Scotland host France and England at Scottish Gas Murrayfield, before rounding off the 2024 Guinness Six Nations with trips to Rome, to face Italy, and in Dublin to meet Ireland.

Scotland squad for the 2024 Guinness Six Nations:

Forwards: Ewan Ashman – Edinburgh Rugby (12) Josh Bayliss – Bath Rugby (5) Jamie Bhatti – Glasgow Warriors (34) Andy Christie – Saracens (4) Luke Crosbie – Edinburgh Rugby (7) Scott Cummings – Glasgow Warriors (33) Jack Dempsey – Glasgow Warriors (15) Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors (15) Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby (68) Richie Gray – Glasgow Warriors (78) Matt Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (40) Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors (62) Alec Hepburn – Exeter Chiefs (uncapped) Will Hurd – Leicester Tigers (uncapped) Johnny Matthews – Glasgow Warriors (1) WP Nel – Edinburgh Rugby (61) Jamie Ritchie – Edinburgh Rugby (46) Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby (26) Sam Skinner – Edinburgh Rugby (30) George Turner – Glasgow Warriors (40) Glen Young – Edinburgh Rugby (3)


Adam Hastings – Gloucester Rugby (27) Ben Healy – Edinburgh Rugby (4) George Horne – Glasgow Warriors (26) Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby (39) Rory Hutchinson – Northampton Saints (8) Huw Jones – Glasgow Warriors (43) Blair Kinghorn – Toulouse (50) Stafford McDowall – Glasgow Warriors  (1) Harry Paterson – Edinburgh Rugby (uncapped) Ali Price – Edinburgh Rugby (66) Cameron Redpath – Bath Rugby (9) Arron Reed – Sale Sharks (uncapped) Kyle Rowe – Glasgow Warriors (1) Finn Russell – Bath Rugby (75) Kyle Steyn – Glasgow Warriors (15) Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors (22) Duhan van der Merwe – Edinburgh Rugby (34) Ben White – Toulon (18)