Jones names Cipriani in England squad for South Africa tour

Danny Cipriani has earned a recall to the England setup after Eddie Jones named him in his 34-man squad to tour South Africa in June.

Danny Cipriani has earned a recall to the England setup after Eddie Jones named him in his 34-man squad to tour South Africa in June.

The Wasps fly-half has been in excellent form for his club this season, but last pulled on an England jersey back in 2015.

Head coach Jones named eight uncapped players in his squad as England look to bounce back from finishing a disappointing fifth in this year’s NatWest 6 Nations.

Among those are Cipriani’s Wasps teammates scrum-half Dan Robson and back row forward Jack Willis.

Elsewhere in the forwards, there are three other new faces in Ben Earl, Jonny Hill and New Zealand-born flanker Brad Shields, while Billy Vunipola returns to the squad after last featuring for England during the 2017 Championship.

Fly-half Owen Farrell will captain the side in South Africa in the absence of Dylan Hartley.

Farrell’s Saracens teammate Ben Spencer is a new addition to the squad in the backs, along with Sale Sharks’ Cameron Redpath.

England’s last away win against the Springboks came in 2000 in Bloemfontein and they have only won 23 percent of their matches on South African soil.

Jones said: “Our tour to South Africa will be the most exciting challenge for us as a group since 2016.

“We have an opportunity to create some history next month and win the Test series, something no England side has done before.

“There are a number of players out injured or not selected so it provides a big opportunity for others.

“With three weeks to prepare for the first Test in Johannesburg I am expecting players to come into camp with the right mind-set and we will be looking for them to break the mould in terms of being more assertive and on the front foot in everything we do.

“We will need to be physically aggressive and tactically smart against the Springboks who we know will be combative and reinvigorated by their new coaching setup.”

England will play South Africa in three Tests in Johannesburg (June 9), Bloemfontein (June 16) and Cape Town (June 23).



Tom Curry (Sale Sharks) – 1 cap Ben Earl (Saracens) – uncapped Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs) – uncapped Nick Isiekwe (Saracens) – 2 caps Maro Itoje (Saracens) – 19 caps Joe Launchbury (Wasps) – 52 caps Chris Robshaw (Harlequins) – 64 caps Brad Shields (Hurricanes/Wasps) – uncapped Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs) – 7 caps Billy Vunipola (Saracens) – 34 caps Jack Willis (Wasps) – uncapped Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons) – 2 caps Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs) – 5 caps Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers) – 5 caps Jamie George (Saracens) – 25 caps Joe Marler (Harlequins) – 56 caps Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins) – 10 caps Mako Vunipola (Saracens) – 49 caps Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs) – 8 caps

BACKS (15)

Mike Brown (Harlequins) – 69 caps Elliot Daly (Wasps) – 18 caps Nathan Earle (Saracens) – uncapped Jonny May (Leicester Tigers) – 34 caps Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks) – 2 caps Danny Cipriani (Wasps) – 14 caps Owen Farrell (Saracens) – 58 caps George Ford (Leicester Tigers) – 45 caps Alex Lozowski (Saracens) – 4 caps Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks) – uncapped Dan Robson (Wasps) – uncapped Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs) – 10 caps Ben Spencer (Saracens) – uncapped Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors) – 13 caps Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) – 74 caps