Navidi set to captain Wales against Ireland

Wales have announced their team to face Ireland in Cardiff with Josh Navidi set to captain a much-changed side.

Wales have announced their team to face Ireland in Cardiff with Josh Navidi set to captain a much-changed side.

Just James Davies retains his place from the victory over England as Warren Gatland’s makes 14 changes to his starting line-up while Rhys Carre and Owen Lane are handed their international debuts.

Adam Beard comes into the second-row alongside the experienced Bradley Davies with Navidi captaining the side behind them from No.8.

Aaron Shingler and James Davies are named in the back-row alongside skipper Navidi while prop Carre and wing Lane are set to make their bows.

Jarrod Evans makes his first start for Wales and links up with Aled Davies in an experimental half-back duo.

And Owen Watkin and Scott Williams line up in the centres with Lane, Steff Evans and Hallam Amos making up the back-three.

Elliot Dee, Rob Evans and Leon Brown provide the front-row cover with Jake Ball and Ross Moriarty completing the forward contingent.

Tomos Williams, who missed the first two World Cup warm-ups with a shoulder injury returns to the bench, with Rhys Patchell and Jonah Holmes named as the additional backline cover.

“For Josh, it’s a huge honour to be named captain, he has been hugely consistent for us, he has really impressed in the last couple of seasons and he will lead from the front of Saturday and it is a great compliment for him to be awarded the captaincy,” said Gatland.

“Saturday is a really big game for the players and I’m really excited about the challenge for this Welsh team. There is so much at stake in terms of RWC selection with a number of positions still up for grabs it will be a huge game.

“It is a great opportunity for Rhys and Owen, they have worked hard all summer to get to this point so it will be good for them to get their first international caps and put their hands up for RWC selection after the match.”

Wales face Ireland in Cardiff on Saturday, August 31 at 2.30pm.

15.Hallam Amos (Cardiff Blues) 14. Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues)* 13. Scott Williams (Ospreys) 12. Owen Watkin (Ospreys) 11. Steff Evans (Scarlets) 10. Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues) 9. Aled Davies (Ospreys) 1. Rhys Carre (Saracens)* 2. Ryan Elias (Scarlets) 3. Samson Lee (Scarlets) 4. Adam Beard (Ospreys) 5. Bradley Davies (Ospreys) 6. Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) 7. James Davies (Scarlets) 8. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (C)


16. Elliot Dee (Dragons) 17. Rob Evans (Scarlets) 18. Leon Brown (Dragons) 19. Jake Ball (Scarlets) 20. Ross Moriarty (Dragons) 21. Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) 22. Rhys Patchell (Scarlets) 23. Jonah Holmes (Leicester Tigers)