Scotland make three changes ahead of France clash

Rory Darge is set to make his first Scotland start as one of three changes to the team that takes on France at BT Murrayfield on Saturday.

Rory Darge is set to make his first Scotland start as one of three changes to the team that takes on France at BT Murrayfield on Saturday.

The Glasgow Warriors player is one of two changes to the back row, with Magnus Bradbury also coming in as Scotland look to bounce back from defeat to Wales.

The final change is at tighthead prop where Zander Fagerson comes in for WP Nel, who drops to the bench.

Darge starts on the blindside flank with Bradbury replacing Matt Fagerson as Sam Skinner shifts into the second row in place of the injured Jonny Gray.

Hamish Watson rounds out the back row, while Skinner will pack down alongside Grant Gilchrist in the second row.

Up front, Zander Fagerson joins Pierre Schoeman and Stuart McInally and it is an unchanged backline captained by Stuart Hogg from full-back.

Ali Price and Finn Russell continue their half-back pairing, with Sione Tuipulotu and Chris Harris combining in the centres.

Duhan van der Merwe, who scored the winning try in Paris a year ago, starts on one wing opposite the in-form Darcy Graham.

There are further changes on the bench where Oli Kebble comes in for the injured Rory Sutherland while Jamie Hodgson and Nick Haining also come in to cover second and back row respectively. Finally Mark Bennett is in for Cameron Redpath as cover for the outside backs.

Scotland currently sit fourth in the Guinness Six Nations table after one win and one defeat from their first two matches. They have won their last two Championship clashes with France, and are unbeaten in the Guinness Six Nations at home to Les Bleus since 2014.

France did however win on their last visit to BT Murrayfield, 22-15 in the Autumn Nations Cup in 2020.

Scotland team to face France:

15. Stuart Hogg – Exeter Chiefs – (Captain) – 90 caps 14. Darcy Graham – Edinburgh Rugby – 24 caps 13. Chris Harris – Gloucester Rugby – 33 caps 12. Sione Tuipulotu – Glasgow Warriors – 3 caps 11. Duhan van der Merwe – Worcester Warriors – 15 caps 10. Finn Russell – Racing 92 – (Vice-Captain) – 60 caps 9. Ali Price – Glasgow Warriors – 48 caps

1. Pierre Schoeman – Edinburgh Rugby – 6 caps 2. Stuart McInally – Edinburgh Rugby – 45 caps 3. Zander Fagerson – Glasgow Warriors – 44 caps 4. Sam Skinner – Exeter Chiefs – 17 caps 5. Grant Gilchrist – Edinburgh Rugby – (Vice-Captain) – 50 caps 6. Rory Darge – Glasgow Warriors – 1 cap 7. Hamish Watson – Edinburgh Rugby – 47 caps 8. Magnus Bradbury – Edinburgh Rugby – 16 caps


16. George Turner – Glasgow Warriors – 22 caps 17. Oli Kebble – Glasgow Warriors – 11 caps 18. WP Nel – Edinburgh Rugby – 45 caps 19. Jamie Hodgson – Edinburgh Rugby – 3 caps 20. Nick Haining – Edinburgh Rugby – 10 caps 21. Ben White – London Irish – 2 caps 22. Blair Kinghorn – Edinburgh Rugby – 29 caps 23. Mark Bennett – Edinburgh Rugby – 22 caps