Scotland name Rugby World Cup training squad

Gregor Townsend has named his extended 41-player Scotland squad ahead of the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

Gregor Townsend has named his extended 41-player Scotland squad ahead of the 2023 Rugby World Cup.

Jamie Ritchie is once again named as captain after a successful Guinness Six Nations, which saw Scotland finish third, while Grant Gilchrist, WP Nel, Finn Russell and Stuart Hogg are all in line to take part in their third Rugby World Cup, having played in both 2015 and 2019.

The squad is made up of 23 forwards and 18 backs, with only two players, Leicester Tigers second row Cam Henderson and Glasgow Warriors centre Stafford McDowall yet to be capped.

There are returns to the fold for winger Darcy Graham and flanker Rory Darge, who both missed the 2023 Championship through injury.

The squad will meet up on May 29 for a training camp to begin their preparations, ahead of warm-up matches against France, Italy and Georgia in July and August.

Following those matches, the squad will be reduced to the final 33 before the World Cup begins in September in France.

Scotland are in Group B with reigning champions South Africa, Grand Slam winners Ireland, Tonga and Romania and will begin against the Springboks on September 10 in Marseille.

Scotland training squad for 2023 Rugby World Cup

FORWARDS: Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby), Andy Christie (Saracens), Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Darge (Glasgow Warriors), Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby), WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby), Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby), Javan Sebastian (Scarlets), Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby), Rory Sutherland (Ulster Rugby), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), Murphy Walker (Glasgow Warriors), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby)

BACKS: Jamie Dobie (Glasgow Warriors), Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby), Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby), Adam Hastings (Gloucester Rugby), Ben Healy (Munster Rugby), Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs), George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), Stafford McDowall (Glasgow Warriors), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby), Finn Russell (Racing 92), Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors), Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby), Ben White (London Irish)