Three uncapped players included in 28-man England squad

Eddie Jones has named uncapped players Paolo Odogwu, Harry Randall and Beno Obano in England’s 28-man squad for the defence of their Guinness Six Nations title.

Eddie Jones has named uncapped players Paolo Odogwu, Harry Randall and Beno Obano in England’s 28-man squad for the defence of their Guinness Six Nations title.

Odogwu has been in scintillating form for Wasps in the Premiership this season, with the 23-year-old dazzling defences whether playing out on the wing or in the centre.

He receives his first call-up to the Red Rose senior team alongside Bristol Bears scrum-half Randall, also 23, after both players represented England at U20 level.

Beno Obano is the third uncapped player to be included in the squad and could earn his first cap just over three years after receiving his first call-up for the 2017 Red Rose training party.

Owen Farrell will captain England for the Championship and there is a return from injury for Courtney Lawes while Elliot Daly and Anthony Watson could reach their 50-cap milestones.

Jones said: “This has been a really tough squad to pick and I know there are a lot of disappointed players who haven’t been selected.

“We’re really excited by the players we have got, it’s a very vibrant squad and we are looking forward to getting started next week.

“We’re very grateful to Premiership Rugby, the clubs and the RPA for allowing us to have 28 players throughout the tournament, we’re very happy with the number and it’s testament to the growing relationships between all parties.

“Ultimately our goal is to win the Six Nations and to do that we’ll need to work hard, prepare well each day and take it as it comes.”

England will retain a 28-player squad throughout the Championship, following an agreement with Premiership Rugby, The RPA and The RFU in recognition of the challenges presented by COVID-19.

The squad will meet up at St. George’s Park, England football’s training base, on Wednesday before moving to their base at The Lensbury in Teddington ahead of their first game against Scotland at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday, 6 February (4.45pm KO).

Jones has also named a 12-player shadow squad, who will be part of the same testing protocols as the Championship squad. Mako Vunipola will join with the squad to undertake rehab.

Following their opening match, the Calcutta Cup, England will then host Italy on Saturday 13, February (2.15pm KO) before playing Wales away on Saturday 27 February (4.45pm KO).

Jones’ side will return to Twickenham to face France on Saturday 13 March (4.45pm KO) before travelling to Dublin for their final game, against Ireland, on Saturday 20 March (4.45pm KO).



Elliot Daly (Saracens, 47 caps) Owen Farrell (Saracens, 88 caps) George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 72 caps) Ollie Lawrence (Worcester Warriors, 3 caps) Max Malins (Bristol Bears, 3 caps) Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 61 caps) Paolo Odogwu (Wasps, uncapped) Harry Randall (Bristol Bears, uncapped) Dan Robson (Wasps, 7 caps) Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 34 caps) Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 46 caps) Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 104 caps)


Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 26 caps) Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 28 caps) Ben Earl (Bristol Bears, 8 caps) Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 23 caps) Jamie George (Saracens, 54 caps) Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps) Maro Itoje (Saracens, 43 caps) Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 69 caps) Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 85 caps) Joe Marler (Harlequins, 72 caps) Beno Obano (Bath Rugby, uncapped) Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 8 caps) Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 22 caps) Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 56 caps) Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 18 caps) Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 19 caps)


Charlie Atkinson (Wasps, uncapped) Ali Crossdale (Saracens, uncapped) Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby, 3 caps) Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, 17 caps) George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 3 caps) Joe Heyes (Leicester Tigers, uncapped) Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 54 caps) Joe Marchant (Harlequins, 4 caps) George Martin (Leicester Tigers, uncapped) Alex Mitchell (Northampton Saints, uncapped) Jacob Umaga (Wasps, uncapped) Jack Willis (Wasps, 2 caps)