Townsend picks four uncapped players in Scotland squad

Gregor Townsend 4/2/2022
Munster fly-half Ben Healy is one of four uncapped players named by Gregor Townsend in Scotland’s squad for the 2023 Guinness Six Nations.

Munster fly-half Ben Healy is one of four uncapped players named by Gregor Townsend in Scotland’s squad for the 2023 Guinness Six Nations.

Healy, who will join Edinburgh in the summer, is joined by Bath wing Ruaridh McConnochie – who represented England at the 2019 World Cup – among the new faces, along with Glasgow Warriors centre Stafford McDowall and Leicester Tigers lock Cameron Henderson.

Elsewhere, experienced pair Sean Maitland and Huw Jones make their returns to the international fold having last featured in the 2021 Championship.

Maitland is rewarded for his good form in a Saracens shirt while Jones has impressed since returning to Glasgow Warriors last summer.

Jamie Ritchie captains the squad and former skipper Stuart Hogg could bring up his century in this year’s Championship, the full-back currently sitting on 96 caps.

Zander Fagerson, currently out of action with a hamstring injury, is included in the squad but there is no place at this stage for Darcy Graham, who picked up a knee injury in early December.

Scotland begin their campaign with a trip to Twickenham on February 4 as they look to keep the Calcutta Cup in their possession.

Read more: Owens named captain in Gatland’s first squad back in charge

Townsend said: “It’s a very exciting time with the Guinness Six Nations around the corner.

“We have a three-day camp next week and then ahead of the England game, we will travel to Spain.

“We went on this camp three years ago before we played Ireland and it was a successful week in terms of bringing the squad together and putting a very good performance in. That’s the plan again this year.”

Scotland squad for the 2023 Guinness Six Nations


Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) 6 caps

Josh Bayliss (Bath Rugby) 3 caps

Simon Berghan (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps

Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) 25 caps

Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) 57 caps

Dave Cherry (Edinburgh Rugby) 8 caps

Andy Christie (Saracens) 4 caps

Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby) 2 caps

Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors) 4 caps

Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 28 caps

Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) 54 caps

Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) 59 caps

Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) 72 caps

Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) 69 caps

Cameron Henderson (Leicester Tigers) uncapped

WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) 50 caps

Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby) – CAPTAIN – 36 caps

Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby) 16 caps

Javan Sebastian (Scarlets) 3 caps

Sam Skinner (Edinburgh Rugby) 23 caps

Rory Sutherland (Ulster Rugby) 22 caps

George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) 29 caps

Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) 54 caps


Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby) 39 caps

Ben Healy (Munster Rugby) uncapped

Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) 96 caps

George Horne (Glasgow Warriors) 18 caps

Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) 31 caps

Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby) 38 caps

Sean Maitland (Saracens) 53 caps

Ruaridh McConnochie (Bath Rugby) uncapped

Stafford McDowall (Glasgow Warriors) uncapped

Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) 58 caps

Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) 4 caps

Finn Russell (Racing 92) 65 caps

Ollie Smith (Glasgow Warriors) 2 caps

Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors) 5 caps

Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors) 11 caps

Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby) 23 caps

Ben White (London Irish) 9 caps