Under-18 Six Nations Festival: Men’s preview

Ireland celebrate after the game 13/4/2022
The next generation of Guinness Six Nations stars will take centre stage across the next 10 days as the Men’s Under-18 Six Nations Festival returns.

The next generation of Guinness Six Nations stars will take centre stage across the next 10 days as the Men’s Under-18 Six Nations Festival returns.

Louis Rees-Zammit, Raffi Quirke and Stephen Varney all featured in the 2019 competition while several players who featured in 2022, including Wales’ Louie Hennessey and England’s Finn Carnduff, made the step up to the Under-20s Six Nations earlier this year.

This year’s men’s competition will be played across three days, on April 8, 12 and 16, at Energia Park in Dublin.


Teams will play three standalone 70-minute fixtures, with every player looking to start at least one game and rolling substitutions throughout to ensure the best development opportunities across the Festival.

Matchday 1 begins with Wales taking on Italy, before hosts Ireland face Scotland in the second of three matches. England’s clash with France concludes the opening day of men’s action.

France are first up on Matchday 2, locking horns with Scotland. Italy and England are next to do battle before the day ends with Wales versus Ireland.

The final round kicks off with Scotland’s clash against Wales, before France face Italy and England go up against Ireland in the last match of this year’s competition.


The men’s event in 2022 saw England and France impress, with both sides going unbeaten.

The two sides met earlier this year and played out a classic, France ultimately coming out on top 29-24, while Wales and Scotland also put on a show in a match won 31-24 by the hosts in Swansea three weeks ago.

Ireland were also strong in this competition 12 months ago, bouncing back from a narrow defeat against France in their opener to defeat Wales and Italy.

Scotland came out on top against Italy, who pushed England close before going down 28-21 in Matchday 2.

Plenty more competitive matches are expected from this generation in 2023, with Ireland looking to make the most of home advantage and continue a memorable year for Irish men’s rugby.


Every game will be live streamed across both festivals, and fans will be able to follow all the action across our Six Nations Rugby channels, offering commentary in English, French and Italian.

Spectators will also be able to attend the matchdays at both Wellington College and Energia Park.

Tickets for the men’s competition at Energia Park can be purchased here.


England head coach Jonathan Pendlebury: “We’ve had a pair of great hit-outs in March against Wales and France, two games that tested them and gave them invaluable experience and competition in their development journey this season. Some of the squad that took part in these fixtures are still eligible and able to take these experiences further into the Six Nations Festival in Dublin.

“This a special selection, and one the players can share with their families, schools, junior and community rugby clubs, and academies that helped put them in the frame to be selected.”

Wales head coach Richie Pugh: “It is a huge opportunity, we have spoken about the privilege and honour to represent your country, it is something that every 16, 17, or 18-year-old who is in the regional set-up is aiming to do.

“The boys selected in the 26 have worked hard to be where they are, and it is an exciting opportunity for them. Many of them have not had the opportunity to represent Wales before, so it is a new experience for them, but they are relishing the opportunity.

“For the players as individuals, the opportunity and exposure of playing for Wales is amazing.”

Julie Paterson, Director of Rugby at Six Nations Rugby: “The Six Nations Under-18 Festivals are a vital development platform for our athletes

“For the players and coaches, and the valuable support staff, these festivals offer a real opportunity to gain valuable match day experience at international level whilst also engaging and challenging them through various professional development opportunities during the festival week.

“It is also a fantastic opportunity for the next generation of match officials to learn and share knowledge with members from the other unions.”



Toby Baker, Oscar Beckerleg, Josh Bellamy, Jack Bracken, Tom Burrow, Conor Byrne, Ollie Davies, Lucas Friday, Charlie Griffin, Junior Kpoku, Jack Lightbown, Reuben Logan, Ned McCormack, Ralph McEachran, Archie McParland, Charlie Myall, Jacob Oliver, Will Owen, Henry Pollock, Tye Raymont, Ben Redshaw, Billy Sela, Tom Threlfall, George Timmins, Louie Trevett, Kepueli Tuipulotu


Junior Edouard Jabea Njocke, Sascha Mistrulli, Lyam Akrab, Gabin Garault, Zinedine Aouad, Owen Sorhaindo, Charles Kante Samba, Raphaël Darquier, Lilou Brun Bourdi, Noa Traversier, Baptiste Britz, Sialevailea Tolofua, Logan Dubois, Elyjah Ibsaiene, Thibaut Motassi, Simon Daroque, Aurélien Barreau, Diego Jurd, Johan Wasserman, Maxim Granell, Fabien Brau Boirie, Romain Taccola, Kalvin Gourgues, Jon Echegaray, Xan Mousques, Ugo Pacome Nassar


Bryan Walsh, James Wyse, Mikey Yarr, Luke McLaughlin, Alex Mullan, Mahon Ronan, Aaron O’Brien, James White, Jack Angulo, Tom Murtagh, Andrew Doyle, Evan Moynihan, Paddy Taylor, Ciaran Mangan, Paidi Farrell, Andre Ryan, Charlie Molony, Todd Lawlor, Mark Fitzgerald, Emmett Calvey, Michael Foy, Oisin Minogue, Luke Murphy, Dylan Hicks, Gene O’Leary Kareem, Jed O’Dwyer


Niccolo Beni, Pietro Bettini, Nicola Bolognini, Samuele Bordini, Francesco Borelli, Nelson Casartelli, Michele Corvasce Nicolo, Christian D’Apollonia, Giacomo Dell’oglio, Riccardo Favaretto, Diego Franchini, Piero Gritti, Riccardo Ioannucci, Darren Low, Pietro Melegari, Mattia Midena, Giacomo Milano, Tommaso Mussini, Giacomo Ndoumbe Lobe, Tiziano Pasini, Sergio Pelliccioli, Alessio Pensieri, Tommaso Redondi, Giulio Sari, Bruno Vallesi, Federico Zanandrea


Seb Stephen, Finlay McIntosh, Fraser Wilson, Oliver Duncan, Fergus Wood, Joe Roberts, Bart Godsell, Charlie Moss, Finn Spurway, Ben White, Keita Ando, Ollie Blyth-Lafferty, Freddy Douglas, Nick Torkington, Hector Patterson, Hugo Alderson, Isaac Coates, Matthew Urwin, Lloyd McEwan-Peters, Johnny Ventisei, Jack Brown, Sam Leweni, Fergus Watson, Samuel Rockley, Jack Hocking, Thomas Russell


Ioan Emanuel, Max Bignall, Sam Scott, Owain James, Harry Thomas, Evan Wood, Nick Thomas, Luke Evans, Kenzie Jenkins, Harry Beddall, Evan Minto, Owain Paskell, Harri Wilde, Tom Bowen, Steffan Emanuel, Osian Roberts, Harry Rees Weldon, Scott Delnevo, Kyle Harris, Keanu Evans, Kane James, Joshua Pearce, Jack Woods, Ioan Duggan, Elijah Evans, Kodie Stone