What are the teams for England v Scotland in the Guinness Six Nations?

Hogg Russell 2000
The opening day of the 2023 Guinness Six Nations concludes with a classic as England welcome Scotland to Twickenham for the latest instalment of a historic rivalry.

The opening day of the 2023 Guinness Six Nations concludes with a classic as England welcome Scotland to Twickenham for the latest instalment of a historic rivalry.

Scotland arrive as Calcutta Cup holders, a trophy they have lifted in four of the past five years, while the hosts are beginning a new era under Steve Borthwick.

Last year’s clash saw Scotland record a narrow 20-17 victory and there is plenty of intrigue ahead of the rematch.


Saturday’s match kicks off at 4.45pm and viewers in the UK can catch all the action on ITV1, with build-up beginning at 4pm.

Fans in Ireland can tune into RTÉ2.


Steve Borthwick has handed a debut to winger Ollie Hassell-Collins for Saturday’s Guinness Six Nations opener.

The London Irish ace joins Freddie Steward and the returning Max Malins in a new-look back three, while the head coach has opted for the Marcus Smith-Owen Farrell axis at 10 and 12.

Joe Marchant joins Farrell in midfield, with Jack van Poortvliet at scrum-half.

In the pack, Jamie George has been passed fit to start at hooker, in between vice-captains Ellis Genge and Kyle Sinckler.

Maro Itoje and Ollie Chessum are the second rows, with Ben Curry, Lewis Ludlam and Alex Dombrandt in the back row.

Jack Walker is set for an England debut having been named among the replacements.

Borthwick said: “There are few fixtures in the rugby calendar that excite both players and supporters alike more than the annual Six Nations meeting of the Auld enemy as they battle for the honour of lifting the Calcutta Cup.

“Another packed Twickenham will witness the start of the next chapter of English rugby in one of the most keenly contested tournaments in the world. There is no doubt this England team shares the supporters’ sense of eager anticipation.”

England starting XV: 15 Freddie Steward, 14 Max Malins, 13 Joe Marchant, 12 Owen Farrell (captain), 11 Ollie Hassell-Collins, 10 Marcus Smith, 9 Jack van Poortvliet, 1 Ellis Genge, 2 Jamie George, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 4 Maro Itoje, 5 Ollie Chessum, 6 Lewis Ludlam, 7 Ben Curry, 8 Alex Dombrandt

Replacements: 16 Jack Walker, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Dan Cole, 19 Nick Isiekwe, 20 Ben Earl, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Ollie Lawrence, 23 Anthony Watson


Huw Jones will make his international comeback having been picked to start at outside centre at Twickenham.

Jones, who scored in this fixture in 2018, joins Glasgow Warriors teammate Sione Tuipulotu in midfield with Chris Harris among the replacements.

There is no place in the matchday 23 for Ali Price, with Ben White picked to start at scrum-half and George Horne on the bench.

Kyle Steyn occupies the right-wing berth left vacant by the injury to Darcy Graham, with Stuart Hogg fit to start at scrum-half and Finn Russell in the no.10 jersey.

In the pack, Zander Fagerson misses out through injury and WP Nel starts at tighthead. Hamish Watson is also absent, presenting an opportunity for his Edinburgh teammate Luke Crosbie to start at blindside with Jamie Ritchie moving across to openside.

Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend said: “We’ve played England in the opening game for the last couple of seasons. For our supporters, it’s the biggest game of the season.

“For players, it’s hugely important because we play for a trophy, but it’s only one of five Six Nations games. We have to strive to be at our best level or close to our best level over the next six or seven weeks.”

Scotland team to face England: 15. Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs), 14. Kyle Steyn (Glasgow Warriors), 13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), 12. Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), 11. Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh Rugby), 10. Finn Russell (Racing 92), 9. Ben White (London Irish); 1. Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh Rugby), 2. George Turner (Glasgow Warriors), 3. WP Nel (Edinburgh Rugby), 4. Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), 5. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby), 6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh Rugby, Captain), 7. Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh Rugby), 8. Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)

Replacements: 16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors), 17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors), 18. Simon Berghan (Glasgow Warriors), 19. Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs), 20. Jack Dempsey (Glasgow Warriors), 21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), 22. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), 23. Chris Harris (Gloucester Rugby)