What are the teams for Ireland v England on Super Saturday?

Ireland’s Jamison Gibson-Park and Conor Murray 12/3/2023
Dublin is preparing for an almighty St.Patrick’s Day weekend, with Ireland one game away from winning just the fourth Grand Slam in their history.

Dublin is preparing for an almighty St.Patrick’s Day weekend, with Ireland one game away from winning just the fourth Grand Slam in their history.

Only England stand in the way of Ireland’s first Guinness Six Nations title in five years, with their clash at the Aviva Stadium set to bring the curtain down on the 2023 Championship.

Here’s how the two teams line up.


Saturday could mark a special day for Johnny Sexton, who will hope to bring his Guinness Six Nations career to a close with the Grand Slam, Triple Crown and the Championship record points total.

Sexton is level on 557 points with Ronan O’Gara but for the first time this year, he will play alongside a scrum-half not named Conor Murray from the start.

Andy Farrell has made three changes to the team that beat Scotland, with Jamison Gibson-Park selected to start in the No.9 jersey.

Gibson-Park was initially picked to start against Wales in Round 1 but injury ruled him out and he has to bide his time from the bench.

Farrell’s other two changes are injury-enforced, with Robbie Henshaw replacing Garry Ringrose at centre, while Ryan Baird is in for Iain Henderson at lock.

Rob Herring, Kieran Treadwell and Jimmy O’Brien come into the matchday 23.

Ireland: 15. Hugo Keenan, 14. Mack Hansen, 13. Robbie Henshaw, 12. Bundee Aki, 11. James Lowe, 10. Johnny Sexton, 9. Jamison Gibson-Park, 1. Andrew Porter, 2. Dan Sheehan, 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. Ryan Baird, 5. James Ryan, 6. Peter O’Mahony, 7. Josh van der Flier, 8. Caelan Doris

Replacements: 16. Rob Herring, 17. Cian Healy, 18. Tom O’Toole, 19. Kieran Treadwell, 20. Jack Conan, 21. Conor Murray, 22. Ross Byrne, 23. Jimmy O’Brien


Steve Borthwick has recalled captain Owen Farrell and centre Manu Tuilagi to the starting XV, as he makes four changes to the team that lost to France.

Farrell was dropped for the game against Les Bleus but comes in to replace Marcus Smith at fly-half, while Tuilagi makes his first Championship appearance of the season at inside centre in place of an injured Ollie Lawrence.

With Henry Slade at No.13, it is the same fly-half-centre combination that beat Ireland in Dublin in 2019.

Henry Arundell makes his first England start on the left wing and replaces Max Malins, while David Ribbans comes in for the injured Ollie Chessum at lock.

England: 15. Freddie Steward, 14. Anthony Watson, 13. Henry Slade, 12. Manu Tuilagi, 11. Henry Arundell, 10. Owen Farrell, 9. Jack van Poortvliet, 1. Ellis Genge, 2. Jamie George, 3. Kyle Sinckler, 4. Maro Itoje, 5. David Ribbans, 6. Lewis Ludlam, 7. Jack Willis, 8. Alex Dombrandt.

Replacements: 16. Jack Walker, 17. Mako Vunipola, 18. Dan Cole, 19. Nick Isiekwe, 20. Ben Curry, 21. Alex Mitchell, 22. Marcus Smith, 23. Joe Marchant