What are the teams for Scotland v Ireland?

Scotland and Ireland will meet in one of the biggest Guinness Six Nations matches BT Murrayfield has ever staged on Sunday.

Scotland and Ireland will meet in one of the biggest Guinness Six Nations matches BT Murrayfield has ever staged on Sunday.

The home side are chasing their first Triple Crown since 1990, while a win will also give them a shot at winning their first Championship title in 24 years.

Ireland are 60% of the way towards a Grand Slam and, if they beat Scotland and results go their way, they could leave Edinburgh as champions.


Stuart Hogg will make his 100th Scotland appearance at BT Murrayfield.

The popular full-back, who is Scotland’s record try-scorer, will become the fourth player in Scotland Men’s history to bring up a century, joining Ross Ford, Chris Paterson and Sean Lamont.

Jonny Gray and Jack Dempsey have also been named in the starting XV in the only two changes from the loss in Paris.

Gray, who will enter Scotland’s top ten most capped players in winning his 76th, joins his brother Richie in an experienced second row with Grant Gilchrist unavailable through suspension.

No.8 Dempsey earns a first start of the championship as part of a back row reshuffle, with captain Jamie Ritchie moving to openside flanker and Matt Fagerson selected on the blindside.

Scotland team to play Ireland: 15. Stuart Hogg, 14. Kyle Steyn, 13. Huw Jones, 12. Sione Tuipulotu, 11. Duhan van der Merwe, 10. Finn Russell, 9. Ben White, 1. Pierre Schoeman, 2. George Turner, 3. Zander Fagerson, 4. Richie Gray, 5. Jonny Gray, 6. Matt Fagerson, 7. Jamie Ritchie, 8. Jack Dempsey.

Replacements: 16. Fraser Brown, 17. James Bhatti, 18. Simon Berghan, 19. Scott Cummings, 20. Hamish Watson, 21. Ali Price, 22. Blair Kinghorn, 23. Chris Harris


Ireland captain Johnny Sexton returns to the side to face Scotland, as Andy Farrell makes six changes.

Sexton missed the Round 3 fixture in Rome against Italy having picked up a knock against France in the previous round and will hope to become the all-time leading Six Nations points scorer, starting just seven behind fellow Irishman Ronan O’Gara (557 Six Nations points).

Conor Murray is also restored to the starting line-up having impressed off the bench against Italy. In the midfield, Bundee Aki shifts to inside centre to accommodate the returning Garry Ringrose.

Tadhg Furlong returns up front, while there are recalls for Conor Murray, Dan Sheehan and Peter O’Mahony.

Ireland: 15. Hugo Keenan, 14. Mack Hansen, 13. Garry Ringrose, 12. Bundee Aki, 11. James Lowe, 10. Johnny Sexton (capt), 9. Conor Murray,1. Andrew Porter, 2. Dan Sheehan, 3. Tadhg Furlong, 4. Iain Henderson, 5. James Ryan, 6. Peter O’Mahony, 7. Josh Van der Flier, 8. Caelan Doris.

Replacements: 16. Ronan Kelleher, 17. Cian Healy, 18. Tom O’Toole, 19. Ryan Baird, 20. Jack Conan, 21. Jamison Gibson-Park, 22. Ross Byrne, 23. Robbie Henshaw.