Williams brought in for Springboks clash

Liam Williams starts as Wales revert to type for their showdown with South Africa in Cardiff on Saturday.

Liam Williams starts as Wales revert to type for their showdown with South Africa in Cardiff on Saturday.

Having fielded a much-changed line-up that swept aside Tonga 74-24 last weekend, Warren Gatland fields virtually the same starting XV that defeated Australia on November 10, but for Williams, who replaces Leigh Halfpenny – ruled out with concussion – at full-back.

Wales will be looking to make it a clean sweep of victories in their autumn campaign when they welcome the Springboks to Principality Stadium, having also bettered Six Nations rivals Scotland earlier this month.

“We have rewarded the team that faced Australia with another start this weekend,” said Wales chief Gatland.

“Leigh (Halfpenny) misses out with concussion but it’s a great opportunity for Liam (Williams) at full-back.

“We are really pleased with how the bench has gone in the first three games, so we will be looking for that impact again on Saturday.

“There were a lot of tough selection calls but that is what we want.  The team that played last week was hugely impressive and there are some disappointed boys who miss out.

“We want to end the campaign with a big performance against a very good South African side.”

Williams joins fellow British & Irish Lion George North and Josh Adams in the back three while Hadleigh Parkes and Jonathan Davies are named in midfield.

Meanwhile, Gareth Davies and Gareth Anscombe are partnered at half-back.

In the pack, Nicky Smith, Ken Owens and Tomas Francis are named in the front row, with Adam Beard lining up alongside captain Alun Wyn Jones.

Dan Lydiate, Justin Tipuric and Ross Moriarty pack down in the back row.

On the bench, Elliot Dee, Rob Evans and Dillon Lewis provide front-row cover alongside Cory Hill and Ellis Jenkins.

Tomos Williams, Dan Biggar and Owen Watkin are also named as replacements.

Wales team to play South Africa on Saturday, November 24 (kick-off 5.20pm): 15. Liam Williams, 14. George North, 13. Jonathan Davies, 12. Hadleigh Parkes, 11. Josh Adams, 10. Gareth Anscombe, 9. Gareth Davies, 1. Nicky Smith, 2. Ken Owens, 3. Tomas Francis, 4. Adam Beard, 5. Alun Wyn Jones (capt), 6. Dan Lydiate, 7. Justin Tipuric, 8. Ross Moriarty.

Replacements: 16. Elliot Dee, 17. Rob Evans, 18. Dillon Lewis, 19. Cory Hill, 20. Ellis Jenkins, 21. Tomos Williams, 22. Dan Biggar, 23. Owen Watkin